What Asin Says About Name ‘Asin’ !


Having stormed Telugu and Tamil cinema industy Asin has now moved to Hindi films to conquer bollywood.

“I guess I’m lucky. But yes I feel hugely welcome in Mumbai. I don’t know why filmmakers are showing so much interest in me. I guess they must’ve seen my work in Tamil and Telugu.”

“Thanks for pronouncing my name correctly. Most people tend to give it an Islamic spin. ‘Asin’ is coined from Sanskrit and English. It means ‘sinless’ like ‘Amala’….without blemish. I hope I live up to my name in Mumbai.”

“I can manage hindi quite well. And I don’t have a thick South Indian accent. In these days of globalization I don’t think language is a barrier.

“And I’m only looking for good roles regardless of the language. I’m interested in films in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi and any other language as long as the projects are exciting. I look at the script, then the role, director, banner and finally my co- star.”

“I guess I’m pretty normal and grounded. Because of the so-called stardom down South people expect me to behave in a particular way. And they’re disappointed when I don’t.”

~ by ravivarma9 on September 9, 2008.

Leave a comment